Meet the Commissioners

Bexar County Emergency Services District No. 2 is a taxing authority that is governed by Texas Health and Safety Code 775 and other Texas Laws.  Emergency Services Districts consists of 5 Commissioners.  Bexar County ESD No. 2 currently has 5 Commisisoners on its board, all of which are actively serving on its board.


David Harris



Richard Cash

Vice President


Justen Noakes



Christopher Rait



Brian Fite

Assistant Treasurer

What is an Emergency Services District (ESD)?

An Emergency Services District (ESD) is a political subdivision of the State of Texas, similar to a School District, Library District or Hospital District. Depending on the ESD’s creation documents, an ESD can provide fire protection, emergency medical services or both. A board of five commissioners governs ESDs and operate independently from the county government. In most counties in Texas, the County Commissioners Court appoints the commissioners to two-year terms. Commissioners are elected for ESDs in Harris, Orange, and Smith counties, as well as for ESDs that exist in more than one county.

The voters approved Bexar County ESD No. 2 in May of 2003.

How does an ESD get funding?

ESDs are allowed to levy ad valorem (property) tax. The Texas Constitution states that ESDs may tax up to $0.10 per $100 of property valuation. The ESD’s creation documents establish the district’s initial tax rate.

ESDs may also collect sales tax, provided an election is held and voters approve this power. In Texas, 8.25% is the maximum allowed sales tax rate. The state collects 6.25%, leaving 2% available to eligible local jurisdictions, including ESDs. An ESD may collect anywhere from .125% to 2% of the local sales tax rate depending on availability and subject to voter approval.

ESDs are also allowed to bill for services provided, such as emergency medical services or fire protection, if it so chooses.

Bexar County ESD No. 2 levies an ad valorem (property) tax of $0.10 per $100.00 of property tax valuation and a local sales tax of 1.5%.